Butterflies

My stomach is where they reside,
Waiting patiently in their cage.
They are rarely restless, rarely awoken,
But your presence sends them into a frenzy.
They become uncontrollable,
Diving, darting, twisting, turning,
You have unlocked the cage, and the butterflies surge in all directions.
They force a light blush up to my cheeks,
Flushing them with pink.
Their movements control my reflexes,
Causing my eyes to dart to the floor,
Nervously flitting from your face to my shoes.
The butterflies work their way into my fingers,
Making them fidget relentlessly.
Finally, they journey towards my throat,
Causing me to stutter and giggle against my will.
But one look at you answers all my questions.
Your butterflies are still contained in your cage,
Unaware of my presence,
Waiting for another girl to release them.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janelle
    May 14, 2012 @ 06:42:31

    i think i replyed on the wrong thing, but i wanted to leave it here…this makes me want to write(: really good and cute 🙂

    Reply

  2. randompoems14
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 23:35:00

    I love this poem Shannon its GREAT 🙂

    Reply

  3. randompoems14
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 23:41:20

    did u look at my page

    Reply

  4. randompoems14
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 23:49:36

    thx

    Reply

Leave a comment